2015 Queensland Literary Awards winners

Congratulations to Libby Connors and Christos Tsiolkas who have each been named winners in the 2015 Queensland Literary Awards!

The QLA is a community driven awards program, managed by State Library of Queensland, which nurtures and celebrates the talent and achievement of Australian writers.

Queensland Premier's Award for a Work of State Significance
Libby Connors - Warrior

University of Southern Queensland Australian Short Story Collection - Steele Rudd Award
Christos Tsiolkas - Merciless Gods

Premier and Arts Minister Annastacia Palaszczuk announced the winners at a presentation at the State Library of Queensland.

'The winner of the $25 000 Queensland Premier's Award for a Work of State Significance is Warrior, by Libby Connors, for the dramatic story of young Aboriginal leader Dundalli and his life on the colonial frontier set against a portrait of early Brisbane.

'This award recognises writing with a Queensland focus, celebrating important Queensland authors, stories, history and voices and the judges' decision to award Warrior was unanimous,' Ms Palaszczuk said.

The Queensland Literary Awards are supported through the Queensland Government, the University of Queensland, Griffith University, the University of Southern Queensland, Claire Booth, the Copyright Agency Limited Cultural Fund and The Courier-Mail.

For a complete list of winners, visit qldliteraryawards.org.au


by Libby Connors

The fascinating story of one of the great Aboriginal resistance fighters of the colonial frontier and a compelling portrait of life in early Brisbane.

More details