2015 Queensland Literary Awards shortlists

The QLA is a community driven awards program, managed by State Library of Queensland, which nurtures and celebrates the talent and achievement of Australian writers. This year 58 authors have been shortlisted across 12 categories, and we are delighted to announce that the following Allen & Unwin authors have been recognised:

Queensland Premier's Award for a Work of State Significance
Libby Connors - Warrior

University of Queensland Fiction Book Award
Malcolm Knox - The Wonder Lover
Rohan Wilson - To Name Those Lost

Griffith University Young Adult Book Award
Justine Larbalestier - Razorhurst

University of Southern Queensland Australian Short Story Collection - Steele Rudd Award
Christos Tsiolkas - Merciless Gods

See all the shortlists and find out more about the award here


by Justine Larbalestier

Kelpie and Dymphna are accustomed to the mean streets of 1930s Sydney, but this is a day that will test their courage, their loyalty, and their ability to survive both the ill-intentions of the living and the ever-presence of the dead.

More details

To Name Those Lost

by Rohan Wilson

From the bestselling author of The Roving Party, comes a moving father and son story set amidst the beauty and the violence of the poor and preyed upon of our colonial past.

More details


by Libby Connors

The fascinating story of one of the great Aboriginal resistance fighters of the colonial frontier and a compelling portrait of life in early Brisbane.

More details