2014 Aurealis Awards finalists announced

Finalists for the 2014 Aurealis Awards have been announced and Allen & Unwin is delighted to have five of our books represented across six categories!

Best Fantasy Novel
This Shattered World, Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Best Science Fiction Novel
This Shattered World, Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Best Horror Novel
Razorhurst, Justine Larbalestier

Best Young Adult Novel
Afterworld, Lynnette Lounsbury
Clariel, Garth Nix

Best Children's Fiction
Sunker's Deep: The Hidden #2, Lian Tanner

Judging Coordinator, Tehani Wessely, said that with over 750 entries across the twelve categories, the judges had a hugely challenging job. Winners of the 2014 Aurealis Awards and the Convenors' Award for Excellence will be announced at a ceremony on 11 April 2015.

Find out more about the Aurealis Awards

This Shattered World

by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

This second instalment in the epic Starbound trilogy which began with THESE BROKEN STARS introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a bloody war: Jubilee Chase, a tough soldier who has faced more than her fair share of demons, and Flynn Cormac, the rebel leader who has already lost so much.

More details


by Justine Larbalestier

Kelpie and Dymphna are accustomed to the mean streets of 1930s Sydney, but this is a day that will test their courage, their loyalty, and their ability to survive both the ill-intentions of the living and the ever-presence of the dead.

More details


by Lynnette Lounsbury

Dominic Mathers is about to discover that the end of his life is just the beginning. Hugely compelling, original adventure-fantasy, full of fast-paced action and intriguing ideas, from a brilliant debut Australian author.

More details