The CWA Dagger Awards 2022 Shortlists

 

We are delighted to announce that the following titles have been shortlisted in the 2022 CWA Dagger Awards!

The Gold Dagger Award:
Before You Knew My Name by Jacqueline Bublitz
The Unwilling by John Hart (Zaffre)

The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award:
Dream Girl by Laura Lippman (Faber)

The John Creasy (New Blood) Dagger Award:
The Appeal by Janice Hallett (Profile Books)

The Crime Fiction in Translation Dagger Award:
Oxygen by Sacha Naspini, translated by Clarissa Botsford (Europa Editions)

The Historical Dagger Award:
April in Spain by John Banville (Faber)
A Corruption of Blood by Ambrose Parry (A&U Canongate)

ALCS Gold Dagger for Non-fiction Award:
The Devil You Know: Stories of Human Compassion and Cruelty by Gwen Adshead (Faber)
The Unusual Suspect: The Remarkable True Story of a Modern-Day Robin Hood by Ben Machell (A&U Canongate)
The Disappearance of Lydia Harvey: One Trial, Six Lives and the Dawn of the Twentieth Century by Julia Laite (Profile Books)
The Irish Assassins by Julie Kavanagh (Atlantic Books)

Faber & Faber, Pushkin Press; Pushkin Vertigo and Profile Books; Viper have also been been shortlisted for the Publishers' Dagger Award.
Edward Marston has also been longlisted for The Dagger in the Library Award.

The winners will be announced on the 29th June.

The rest of the shortlists can be found here.

Before You Knew My Name

by Jacqueline Bublitz

An extraordinary, unputdownable debut novel exploring trauma, connection, and our cultural obsession with dead girls.

More details

The Unwilling

by John Hart

From John Hart, the twice-Edgar award winning US crime writing giant, The Unwilling is an exploration of family and the past, of prison and war and the indelible marks they leave on a community. For fans of Chris Whitaker and Jane Harper.

More details

Dream Girl

by Laura Lippman

From the New York Times bestselling author, a psychological thriller about a writer whose dream girl may just have come back to haunt him...

More details

The Appeal

by Janice Hallett

An extraordinarily inventive thriller debut in which the reader is challenged to solve the crime... and predict the victim. With the small-town intrigue of The Casual Vacancy and the deft plotting of Agatha Christie, this is unlike any novel you've read before.

More details

The Unusual Suspect

by Ben Machell

The remarkable true story of a modern-day Robin Hood, from Times feature writer Ben Machell.

More details

The Disappearance of Lydia Harvey

by Julia Laite

An immersive historical account of a fascinating and important untold story.

More details

The Irish Assassins

by Julie Kavanagh

A gripping new account of the infamous Phoenix Park murders which rocked Victorian England.

More details

Oxygen

by Sacha Naspini, translated by Clarissa Botsford

What would you do if one day you found out the person who raised you is a monster?

More details

April in Spain

by John Banville

The sumptuous, propulsive, sun-kissed follow up to the bestselling Snow, from the Booker Prize winning author.

More details

A Corruption of Blood

by Ambrose Parry

Family secrets, sinister murders, a divided Edinburgh - the next thrilling medical mystery in the historical crime series featuring duo Will Raven and Sarah Fisher.

More details

The Devil You Know

by Gwen Adshead

From a pioneering psychiatrist and psychotherapist comes The Devil You Know, a perspective-shattering work into the minds of violent criminals which reveals profound consequences for human nature and society at large.

More details

AustralianVogels-neutral-380--590-px