2021 Aurealis Awards Shortlist


We are delighted to announce that the following titles have been shortlisted for the 2021 Aurealis Awards! 

BEST CHILDREN'S FICTION
The Boy Who Stepped Through Time by Anna Ciddor
Dragon Skin by Karen Foxlee

BEST GRAPHIC NOVEL/ILLUSTRATED WORK
Treasure in the Lake by Jason Pamment

BEST YOUNG ADULT NOVEL
Waking Romeo by Kathryn Barker
Aurora's End: The Aurora Cycle 3 by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Terciel and Elinor by Garth Nix
It's Not You, It's Me by Gabrielle Williams

BEST FANTASY NOVEL
Dark Rise by C.S. Pacat

BEST SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL
Waking Romeo by Kathryn Barker
Aurora's End: The Aurora Cycle 3 by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

SARA DOUGLASS BOOK SERIES AWARD 
Unearthed series (Unearthed and Undying) by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
Lifelike series (Lifel1k3, Dev1at3 and Truel1f3) by Jay Kristoff

The winners will be announced later this year.

The rest of the shortlists and more information can be found here.

The Boy Who Stepped Through Time

by Anna Ciddor

An accidental trip back to the Roman Empire sets off a race against time to save a friendship - and a life. A thrilling time-slip adventure from a much-loved Australian author.

More details

Dragon Skin

by Karen Foxlee

From the bestselling and multi-award-winning author of Lenny's Book of Everything comes a magical tale about a girl who saves a dragon and rescues her family.

More details

Treasure in the Lake

by Jason Pamment

A fantasy-adventure graphic novel about two best friends and their discovery of a mysterious village, perfect for fans of Kazu Kibuishi's Amulet or Raina Telgemeier's Ghost.

More details

Waking Romeo

by Kathryn Barker

What if Juliet Capulet met someone who made her doubt true love? What if Wuthering Heights was a message to a time traveller? A cosmic reimagining of Romeo and Juliet and homage to two literary classics in a compelling novel about fate, love and time travel from an award-winning author.

More details

Aurora's End: The Aurora Cycle 3

by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

The thrilling finale to the internationally bestselling Aurora Cycle series sees the return of Squad 312 in an explosive battle across time and space. By the award-winning authors of the Illuminae Files.

More details

Terciel and Elinor

by Garth Nix

Bestselling novelist Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom for the never-before-told love story of Sabriel's parents, Terciel and Elinor, and the charter magic that brought them together - and threatened to tear them apart. A long-awaited prequel to a classic fantasy series.

More details

It's Not You, It's Me

by Gabrielle Williams

A literally life-changing novel about time travel, soulmates and serial killers that asks a very big question: Can you ever change your fate? This is award-winning YA author Gabrielle Williams' most surprising, ambitious and dexterous book yet.

More details

Dark Rise: Dark Rise 1

by C.S. Pacat

The first book in a brilliant YA fantasy trilogy from internationally acclaimed Australian author CS Pacat.

More details

Unearthed

by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Lara Croft and Indiana Jones join forces - in space! This December, discover the newest series from New York Times bestselling duo, Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. Jules Addison and Amelia Radcliffe join forces in a tomb-raiding race on a newly-discovered planet to unravel the secrets of an ancient, long-extinct civilization--only to uncover a revelation that could spell the end of the human race...

More details

Undying

by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

The earth's fate rests in Mia and Jules's hands in the epic conclusion to New York Times best-selling authors Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner's tomb-raiding sci-fi duology.

More details

Dev1at3: Lifel1k3 2 (Deviate: Lifelike 2)

by Jay Kristoff

The explosive sequel to Lifel1k3 that 'reads like a crazed mash up of Blade Runner, Paradise Lost, X-Men, Mad Max and everything in between' from the author of the Nevernight Chronicles and co-author of the New York Times bestselling Illuminae Files.

More details

Truel1f3: Lifel1k3 3 (Truelife: Lifelike 3)

by Jay Kristoff

From the bestselling co-author of the Illuminae Files comes the thrilling conclusion to the award-winning LIFEL1K3 trilogy.

More details

Lifel1k3: Lifel1k3 1 (Lifelike: Lifelike 1)

by Jay Kristoff

The first in the thrilling trilogy of this epic post-apocalyptic journey from the bestselling author of The Nevernight Chronicle and The Illuminae Files that's part Romeo and Juliet, part Terminator, and all adrenaline.

More details

Dev1at3: Lifel1k3 2 (Deviate: Lifelike 2)

by Jay Kristoff

Book two of the thrilling post-apocalyptic series by the internationally bestselling author of The Nevernight Chronicle and The Illuminae Files.

More details

Truel1f3: Lifel1k3 3 (Truelife: Lifelike 3)

by Jay Kristoff

The thrilling finale of the LIFEL1K3 trilogy from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Nevernight Chronicle and The Illuminae Files.

More details

AustralianVogels2023 380  590 px