The Wellcome Book Prize Shortlist

We are delighted to announce that The Iceberg by Marion Coutts (Atlantic); Bodies of Light by Sarah Moss (Granta); and All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews (Faber) have all been shortlisted for this year's Wellcome Book Prize.

The Wellcome Book Prize is an annual award, open to new works of fiction or nonfiction. To be eligible for entry, a book should have a central theme that engages with some aspect of medicine, health or illness.

The judging panel for 2015 is chaired by bestselling travel writer & historian Bill Bryson, who said 'Highlighting the importance of literature in exploring the human experience within medicine, the shortlist for the Wellcome Book Prize 2015 covers a pleasingly diverse array of subjects and genres. All six books blend exquisite writing with scientific rigour and personal experience, making medical science accessible in six very different ways. Having found my own way to science through literature, I'm thrilled to recommend each one of them.'

The winner of the 2015 prize will be announced on 29 April.

See all the books on the shortlist

The Iceberg

by Marion Coutts

Beautifully written and full of unflinching truth, The Iceberg is a memoir which will leave an indelible mark on all who read it.

More details