The Girl by the Sea

Sheila Newberry
AUD $19.99
9781785769160.jpg
Availability: Not Yet Published

A moving WWII novel from the Queen of Family Saga

Previously published in ebook as The Daughter's Choice

A warm-hearted and nostalgic family saga from the author of The Nursemaid's Secret and Bicycles and Blackberries, perfect for readers of Katie Flynn.

1934

Following the death of her mother, twelve-year-old Tess Rainbow takes on the responsibility of caring for her family. When a plane crash-lands near their home on Romney Marsh, she meets the charming Moray Tann, a young pilot from Scotland, who turns out to be the son of one of her father's rivals. Once nursed back to health, Moray returns to his duties - but not without leaving a mark on Tess's heart.

With the onset of World War II, the Rainbow family move to Scotland. Here Tess is reunited with Moray. Sworn off him, she must choose between her home and her first true love . . .

'Reading a Sheila Newberry book is like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen. You can feel the love and care put into every juicy morsel' - Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family

'I have long been a fan of Sheila Newberry's novels. I love their wonderful warmth and charm.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool

Author bio:

Sheila Newberry was born in Suffolk and spent a lot of time there both before and during the war. She wrote her first 'book' before she was ten - all sixty pages of it - in purple ink. Her family was certainly her inspiration and she was published for most of her adult life. She spent forty years living in Kent with her husband John on a smallholding. She had nine children, twenty-two grandchildren and six great-grandchildren. Sheila retired back to Suffolk where she lived until her death in 2020.

Category: Popular fiction
ISBN: 9781785769160
Publisher: Bonnier
Imprint: Zaffre
Pub Date: August 2022
Page Extent: 400
Format: Paperback - B format
Subject: Historical fiction