City of Spies

Mara Timon
AUD $19.99
9781838770709.jpg

Foyle's War meets The Bletchley Circle in this thriller where no one is who they claim to be . . .

The stunning debut from the new name to watch in espionage thrillers. For fans of Charlotte Philby and The Bletchley Circle, this is perfect Sunday night drama.

LISBON, 1943: When her cover is blown, SOE agent Elisabeth de Mornay flees Paris. Pursued by the Gestapo, she makes her way to neutral Lisbon, where Europe's elite rub shoulders with diplomats, businessmen, smugglers, and spies. There she receives new orders - and a new identity.

Posing as wealthy French widow Solange Verin, Elisabeth must infiltrate a German espionage ring targeting Allied ships, before more British servicemen are killed. The closer Elisabeth comes to discovering the truth, the greater the risk grows. With a German officer watching her every step, it will take all of Elisabeth's resourcefulness and determination to complete her mission.

But in a city where no one is who they claim to be, who can she trust?

'Perfectly captures the conflicted loyalties of wartime espionage in neutral Portugal . . . atmospheric . . . tense' - Sarah Armstrong, author of The Wolves of Leninsky Prospekt

'Casablanca meets le Carre' - A. K. Turner, author of Body Language

Author bio:

Raised in New York, Mara Timon moved to the UK almost 20 years ago; and fell in love with London and the way it melds the old and the new. Growing up with one parent fascinated with literature and the other with history, she started writing from an early age, although it wasn't until a programme on the BBC caught her interest, and one 'what if' led to another, that her first book began to take shape.

Category: Crime & Mystery
ISBN: 9781838770709
Publisher: Bonnier
Imprint: Zaffre
Pub Date: June 2021
Page Extent: 464
Format: Paperback - B format
Subject: Espionage & spy thriller