The Fog Garden

Marion Halligan
AUD $23.99
Availability: Print on demand

A moving and eloquent novel that has confirmed Marion Halligan's status as one of Australia's finest writers.

Somewhere in the kaleidoscope between life and art sits Clare, whose story is Marion Halligan's The Fog Garden. Clare, like Marion, is a woman of a certain age whose much-loved husband of thirty-odd years has just died. And Clare, like Marion, is a novelist.

With the loss of such a marriage of true minds and kindred spirits Clare finds herself building a 'cathedral of grief' - and reeling into the arms of an old friend. Life and writing loop and spiral around Clare and the central enormous fact of her husband's death.

The Fog Garden is a rollercoaster of a story about the nature of fiction and how life creates art, how adultery can be liberating and how sex doesn't stop with age, and how grief is as much a gift as love.

Halligan has crafted a poignant and powerful novel, playing all the time on that dangerous ground between her own life and that of her heroine.

'Deeply moving, highly original and beautifully written. a brave and brilliant display, stolen from death and grief, which transforms the shreds of everyday life into art.' - Sally Blakeney, The Bulletin

'A rich, dynamic book that constantly delights and surprises.' - Liam Davison, The Weekend Australian

'It doesn't pull its punches - about death, love, sex or disaster - but it leaves the reader standing. And replenished.' - Dorothy Porter

Author bio:

Marion Halligan is an award-winning novelist, essayist and short story writer. Her novel, The Golden Dress, was shortlisted for the Dublin IMPAC Prize, the Miles Franklin Award and the Nita B. Kibble Award. She has also received the Age Book of the Year, the ACT Book of the Year, the Nita B. Kibble Award, the Steele Rudd Award, the Braille Book of the Year, the 3M Talking Book of the Year, and the Geraldine Pascall Prize for critical writing. Her other novels are Spider Cup, Lovers' Knots and Wishbone; and her books of essays, non-fiction and short stories include Collected Stories, Eat My Words, Out of the Picture and Cockles of the Heart. Marion has also written a children's book, The Midwife's Daughters; and with Lucy Frost she co-wrote Those Women who Go to Hotels.

Category: Fiction
ISBN: 9781865087696
Awards: Short-listed Nita B Kibble Literary Award 2002 AU; Short-listed Commonwealth Writers' Prize, Best Book for the South-East Asia and South Pacific region 2002 AU; Short-listed Queensland Premier's Literary Award 2002 AU
Table Of Contents: Lapping


The lineaments of gratified desire

At concerts

Vermilion: a short story

The sins of the leopard

Old happy times

The boat

The moral ground

The thirsty cat

Not like a loser

A good death

Referential friends

A measure of kindness

The unquiet grave

Life is dangerous

Flights of pigeons

Love potion

Her silken layer

The weirdo's kitchen

A year and a day


Listening to herself living

Her own mistress

The sons of heaven
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Pub Date: April 2002
Page Extent: 312
Format: Paperback - B format
Age: 0 - 0
0 - 0
Subject: Fiction & related items


Reading Groups

It's a great time to be in a reading group! Discover new titles and books you might not normally pick up and buy, or re-examine books you already know and love. You can make your reading experience richer and more rewarding by being a member of a reading group and meeting others who are interested in sharing their reading experience. ... find out more

For the latest Reading Group Notes, news and competitions subscribe here